Five Minute Friday: Beautiful

20130705-214248.jpg

Here I go! This is my first time linking up with the other ladies at Lisa-Jo Baker’s blog for Five Minute Friday.

The objective? Write unedited, unscripted, unfixed for five minutes on the prompt she gives. Then link up on her blog with the others who accepted the challenge.

This week’s topic: Beautiful.

GO.

For years I have struggled with seeing myself as beautiful. My whole life my family and closest friends have called me beautiful, told me I am beautiful, but growing up, my classmates made me feel anything but.

It’s not fun knowing what everyone you see at school really thinks of you. Whispers behind their hands, sometimes even words to my face that resulted in years and a very broken self image. Some people even called me ugly.

Then, one year, I realized what it was. They saw Jesus in me, and they didn’t like it, because they didn’t have Jesus in them. They struggled as they saw me live out my faith and it was strange to them, so they responded in the only way they knew how.

What happened on the cross was the ugliest act in human history, but through all the ugliness shown the most beautiful and perfect love ever known to man. The world saw brutality and ugliness, but Christ was showing the beauty of grace and everlasting forgiveness.

This truth has gone a long way in restoring my self image. I really am beautiful, and Christ has made me even more beautiful in Him.

STOP

There are more unscripted words on beauty found on Lisa-Jo Baker’s site. Head there now, and have fun reading!

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Beautiful

  1. Thank you for sharing your heart, unfiltered and honest. You…are…truly…beautiful. The God of all calls you His child and knows every hair on your head. Unfortunately, wounded people wound others. What a blessing that you are allowing God to use your experience to touch the lives of others and share His hope. Please keep writing and sharing your wisdom.

    Blessings…

    -Rose

  2. I’m glad you joined FMF! It’s a great group of encouragers. Thank you for sharing and reminding us of truth. It’s a challenge to expose tender parts of our hearts (via the blog), but it’s so healing to our hearts and uplifting to others.

Leave a Reply

