Five Minute Friday: Together

20131025-201046.jpg

Joining for my second Five Minute Friday! Coming to you from Lisa-Jo Baker’s blog, I will write unedited for five minutes. No take backs, no changes, just my thoughts written out completely.

This week’s focus: Together.

My husband and I left for the beach (THE beach – Myrtle Beach) last Friday to join up with our son who was vacationing with another family. They also are great friends of ours. Our son, Noah, and their son, Blake, are best friends.

They are members of our church. He serves as a Deacon alongside my husband. She sings in Choir with us, and we usually sit together for Wednesday Night Bible Study.

My husband and I travelled together with our youngest, Emrys, who is one. This would be his first time at the beach. The trip was almost uneventful, until bumpy roads in the coastal plains jostled Emrys too much and we saw his road snacks again. That is a story for another day, however.

Forty-eight hours together with this family, and what a blessing this short time was for our family. We reconnected as husband and wife through giggles and mindless chatter the whole way there and back. We got to know our brother and sister in Christ on a much deeper level.

We were able to see our eleven year old in action and retrain him in some of the particulars of how to be a nice and polite guest. Ha.

Together with my family, and together with my friends, I came home feeling like I had been away from home for a week. I felt completely rested and rejuvenated, confident and ready to face a new week.

All because of one weekend together.

Head over to Lisa-Jo Baker’s blog now to read her words on Together, as well as the words of others!

http://christianmommyblogger.com

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Together

    • I agree! I usually like to spend more time at the beach, but I had such a blast with the people I was with that it still felt like I got in a fantastic vacation. A bit like pressing the reset button!

  1. What a sweet story! I like Myrtle Beach. My grandmother used to live there, and I have fond memories of visiting her.
    Earlier this year, we went on a church family retreat to Myrtle Beach. It was a couple of days, like yours, and was so fun because of seeing friends there.
    I am visiting from FMF.

    • How awesome! I have very fond memories of our family summer vacations in Myrtle Beach. We always alternated one year with my immediate family and the next year with us and my mom’s side of the family. We’re beach bums, out on the beach by 9 am and we would stay until about five or six. So relaxing!

Leave a Reply

